The Department of Kayachikitsa, JSS Ayurveda Medical College, Mysuru, had organized a programme on May 14, 2018, to observe the ‘World Asthma Day’, from 10.30 am to 1.30 pm.

Dr. Sambamurthy, Vice President, Ayurveda Academy, Bengaluru, and Dr. Savithri Sambamurthy, Secretary Ayurveda Academy, Bengaluru, were the guest speakers. Both of them are excellent academicians and well versed in Samhita Siddanta.

The programme commenced with an invocation by Ms. Shambavi, IV BAMS. Dr. Beena M.D. Asst. Prof. Department Kayachikitsa welcomed the guests and the gathering. Dr.Prashanth Gokhale Reader Dept. of Kayachikitsa, the faculty in Sanskrit, introduced the guests.

It was an exclusive and unique programme where Dr. Sambamurthy explained the uniqueness of Ayurveda in the diagnosis and management of Swasa samprapthi. He explained how Nidana is important to develop different types of samprapti, where the treatment varies. Understanding of nidana and its samprapti is very important for the samprapthi vighatana, selecting the apt drugs, where we can also sometimes minimize the unnecessary use of excessive medicine or even to decide whether to manage without medicine. He also explained the Avasthika Chikitsa by understanding the involvement of Nidanas along with dosha predominance.

The second speaker Dr. Savitri Sambamurthy, explained how the emergencies in ‘swasa’ can be managed even in a clinic by understanding the Nidana and type of samprapthi developed in that particular patient, with different case studies, in different age groups. She also explained the ‘shareeram’, and its relationship in developing the ‘swasa samprapthi’, in an easy and simple way by demonstration.

Overall, it was a wonderful session where all the students and the staff acquired knowledge in different aspects of ‘swasa.’ The session also included an interaction.

After the session, the guests were felicitated by Dean, Dr. Lakshmeesh Upadya, Dr. Deepa Patil, HOD, Dept. of Kayachikitsa, and Dr. Beena, Asst. Prof., Dept. Kayachikitsa.

Dr. Rashmi, PG Scholar, PanchaKarma Department, gave a vote of thanks.

Dr. Kavitha, PG scholar, Panchakarma Department, compered.